Busan International Film Festival Announces the Korean Cinema Award Recipient


SEOUL, South Korea — Hayashi Kanako has played crucial role in the introduction of Korean Cinema to Japanese film professionals. FILMeX has supported Korean cinema through the introduction of various Korean films to the Japanese film market. She has helped Korean Cinema embark on a wider chapter in Japan and Asia. The Busan International Film Festival appreciates her contribution to the advancement of Korean cinema in the international film industry and acknowledges her efforts with the presentation of the Korean Cinema Award.
Many Korean films were promoted at TOKYO FILMeX through her effort. Song Il-Gon’s Flower Island (2001) won the Grand Prize at the second FILMeX. At the fifth FILMeX, his Spider Forest (2004) received substantial attention from the local audience and a subsequent distribution in Japan. Breathless (2009) by Yang Ik-Jun received both the Grand Prize and Audience Award. FILMeX awarded Oasis (2002), Spring, Summer, Fall Winter and Spring (2003), Secret Sunshine (2007), Night and Day (2007); in addition, it screened Treeless Mountain (2008), The Journals of Musan (2011), Arriang (2011) and many others. She has shown her respect for Korean cinema and tried to create an active Asian Cinema network through the invitation of outstanding Korean cinema professionals to FILMeX as jury members: Honorary Festival Director of BIFF Kim Dong Ho, Executive Programmer of BIFF Kim Ji Seok, Korean Actor Ahn Sung-Ki, Korean Actress Moon So-Ri, Korean Director Kim Ki-Duk, and Lee Chang-Dong.   
Hayashi Kanako was the general coordinator of the Kawakita Memorial Film Institute from 1986 to 1997. During this term, she sought to promote new and classic Japanese films domestically and internationally. From 1998 to 2001, she freelanced as the Asian Consultant for the Venice and Berlin (Forum) Film Festival. Also, she was jury member for the Hawaii, Montreal, Istanbul, Taipei, Karlovy Vary, Hong Kong, Locarno, and Berlin Film Festivals. She, as the founder and festival director of TOKYO FILMeX, promotes the greater development of Asian cinema.  
Past Recipients of the Korean Cinema Award
 16th (2011)
– Julietta SICHEL (Former Program Director of the Karlovy Vary International Film Festival/Czech Republic) 
15th (2010)
– Bruno BARDE (Festival Director of Deauville Asian Film Festival/France)
14th (2009)
– Riccardo GELLI (Festival Director of Korea Film Festival in Florence/Italy)
– Jeannette Paulson HERENIKO (President of Asia Pacific Film.com, Former Director of the Hawaii International Film Festival/USA)
13th (2008)
– Richard PEÑA (current Program Director of the Film Society of Lincoln Center, Festival Director of New York Film Festival/USA)
 12th (2007)
– Sabrina BARACETTI (Festival President of Udine Far East Film Festival/Italy)
– Jean-Francois RAUGER (Head Programmer of the Cinematheque Francaise/France)
11th (2006)
– Martial KNAEBEL (Festival Director of Fribourg International Film Festival/Switzerland)
– TERAWAKI Ken (Former Director-General of the Cultural Affairs Department of Japan)
 10th (2005)
– Thierry FREMAUX (Festival Director of Festival de Cannes/France)
– Dieter KOSSLICK (Festival Director of Berlinale/Germany)

 9th (2004)
– Philip CHEAH (Festival Director of Singapore International Film Festival/Singapore)
– YANO Kazuki (Festival Director of Yamagata International Documentary Festival/Japan)

  8th (2003)
– LEE Bong-ou (President of Cine Quanon/Japan)
– PARK Byoung-yang (President of Asia Film Production/Japan)
7th (2002)
– Alain Jacques Louis PATEL (Festival Director of Deauville Asian Film Festival/France)
6th (2001)
– Eva ZAOLALOVA (Artistic Director of Karlovy Vary International Film Festival/Czech)
5th (2000)
– Martin GIROD (Switzerland)
– Anna LOUISA GIROD (Switzerland)
 4th (1999)
– LEE Young-il (Film Critic/Korea)
– Serge LOSIQUE (Festival Director of Montreal International Film Festival/Canada)
3rd (1998)
– Moritz de HADELN (Festival Director of Berlinale/Germany)
– Gilles JACOB (Festival Director of Festival de Cannes/France)
 2nd (1997)
– SATO Tadao (Festival Director of Fukuoka Film Festival/Japan)
– Aruna VASUDEV (Editor-in-Chief of CINEMAYA/India)
1st (1996)
– Adriano APRA (Festival Director of Pesaro IFF/Italy)
– Simon FIELD (Festival Director of International Film Festival at Rotterdam/UK)
– Ancha FLUBACHER-RHIM (Deputy Festival Director of Jeonju International Film Festival/Korea)
– Ulrich GREGOR (Director of International Forum at Berlinale/Germany)
– Alain JALLADEAU (Festival Director of Festival de 3 Continents-Nantes/France)
– Larry KADISH (Programmer at MoMA/USA)
– Tony RAYNS (Film Critic/UK)



HQ bar