BIFF News: New Currents Section Jury Unveiled


SEOUL, South Korea — Presided over by Béla Tarr, the New Currents jury members have been selected from renowned international film figures. The juries will give the New Currents Award to promising Asian film talent.  
Tarr, the chair of the New Currents jury 2012 is a Hungarian master filmmaker. Best known for his slow black-and-white films and the use of long takes, Tarr’s films such as Damnation, Satan’s Tango, Werckmeister Harmonies, and The Man from London are considered to have helped elevate film as an art form. His style has influenced contemporary filmmakers that include Gus Van Sant and Jim Jarmusch. His latest film The Turin Horse, which he announced to be his last one, has received critical acclaim at the Berlin International Film Festival. The Turin Horse was released in Korea earlier this year; Tarr now visits Busan in person to meet youthful cinema of Asia.
The jury of the New Currents section comprises of actors and filmmakers as well as international figures in the arts and culture. The other members of the jury are Jean-Marie Gustave Le Clezio, David Gilmour, Jung Woo-sung, and Kawase Naomi. Nobel laureate in literature, Jean-Marie Gustave Le Clezio joins Tarr as a member of the New Currents jury. His works include The Interrogation and attract a broad international readership. David Gilmour is one of the most respected critics/writers in Canada. Author of seven novels and former television show host; he also writes for the New York Times and People Magazine along with his post as a professor of Literary Studies.

Korean actor Jung Woo-sung is also a member of the New Currents jury. An iconic Korean actor, he has carried his acting career to China since 2000. Japanese documentary director Kawase Naomi became the youngest recipient of the Cannes’s Golden Camera in 1997 with her film Suzaku. She won the Grand Prix at the 2007 Cannes Film Festival with The Mourning Forest.



HQ bar