BIFF News: Flash Forward Jury Members Selected


SEOUL, South Korea — The 17th Busan International Film Festival has finalized jurors for Flash Forward, a competitive section for films by non-Asian directors. Along with New Currents, Flash Forward, which was created in 2009, searches for new promising cineastes who have completed their first or second works.
The Jury head of Flash Forward  is Mexican director Arturo Ripstein,the only director to have inherited Luis Bunnel’s mantle. Ripstein started his career as Bunuel’s assistant director and has now earned international attention through his numerous masterworks, El Castillo de la pureza (Castle of Purity), El Evangelio de las maravillas (Divine), El Imperio de la fortuna, (The Realm of Fortune), El Lugar sin limites (The Place without Limits), and La Reina de la noche (The Queen of The Night). His films have been frequently invited to Cannes, Venice, San Sebastian and the Sundance Film Festival.  
Profundo carmesí (Deep Crimson), the most celebrated murder thriller work in world cinema history, won a number of awards at the Venice Film Festival 1996 and earned an Honorable Mention in Latin American Cinema at the Sundance Festival 1997. In 2000, El Coronel no tiene quien le escriba (No One Writes to the Colonel) won Latin American Cinema Award at the Sundance Film Festival, after having been nominated for the Palme d'Or at Cannes.

Cameron Bailey co-director of the Toronto Film Festival who came to Busan in 2000 as a FPRESCI Juror, Byun Young-Joo a major Korean female film director who recently directed Helpless (Hwa-cha) (2012), Haden Guest the director of the Harvard Film Archive, Sergei Loznista, the director who won the FPRESCI award at the Cannes Film Festival 2012 with V Tumane (In the Fog) will also join Flash Forward Jury.
The Flash Forward Award is presented during the 17th Busan International Film Festival to the best film among those screened in the competitive section of Flash Forward.



HQ bar